21 comments on “Digitally reimagining Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night”

  1. I really like this interpretation picturing Van Gogh FREE (free of asylum, free of mental disease) and being mesmerized by the beauty of the night and nature vs. knowing the real story of creation of this amazing master peace.

  2. Totally agree. The contrast is quite amazing. Van Gogh certainly left his powerful mark on every artwork he created. Thanks for your comment. Robert

  3. Thanks for your comment. You have just caused me to add an update to this post. A quote by Vincent about his desire to paint a starry night. Who knows the effect a comment can have. Thanks again. Robert

  4. van Gogh is very special to me and this quote breaks my heart…it is not hard for me to imagine his way of seeing and I too have wondered why people invariably see stars as brights white objects! far from it…..thank you.

  5. How fun to see the comparison. Thanks for posting them.
    We forget how much night world we have lost through “light pollution” – how dark night was, how many stars you could then see, how mysterious and magical and often scary real darkness was.

  6. Thanks for your comments. You’re absolutely right about night skies. We do need to get away from city lights completely to experience real “starry nights.” Best wishes, Robert

  7. Both are nice, the original is the one I’m most familiar with because you can see his style so clearly (which to me comes from the inner him… which yes, was probably influenced by drugs or mental illness), but I really like the 2nd one as well. It’s beautiful, and I like the idea of having him in the picture as if seeing it through his eyes, but it’s sorta like comparing apples and oranges. (to me that is) Each has it’s own distinct style and therefore both appeal, but for different reasons. 😀 Oh, also, thanks for visiting my blog recently. I do appreciate your time!

    • Keli thanks for your comments about these images. I studied Vincent closely and believe his obsession to do something worthwhile in this world (he was a very religious man) consumed him and lead to mental illness. His art does touch us deeply because that is where it came from within him. As you say it is also good to see what possibly he saw on that night.
      You have an interesting site and I would like to see an “about” to tell us a little about yourself. Best wishes, Robert

  8. Hi I love all his works. Another favourite of mine is his Sunflowers. My first memory of his works was in an art class at the age of 9. We were asked to choose one of his paintings to recreate. This was one of them I chose. Over the years it got damaged and thrown away. My older sister still keeps my Sunflowers in a frame smiling at everyone in her kitchen. It’s sad that pollution today blocks the beauty of the stars and the night sky, and his innocent playfulness is what I love most about his work. Thanks for showing this. It’s beautiful!

    • silvermoonlight18 thanks for your comment. Vincent’s work has touched so many people in so many ways including you and me. Sad you lost yours but at least your sister still has Sunflowers. Maybe you should paint another now.
      Thanks for visiting my post…best wishes, robert

Leave a comment